this blog is dead, but check out the nice design

Double Indemnity [1944]

In film on October 11, 2008 at 4:59 pm

    *      * Paramount's terrific story of an unholy love, and an almost perfect crime!

Film noir directed by the great Billy Wilder, starring the also great Fred MacMurray, Barbara Stanwyck, and Edward G. Robinson. This was a truly thrilling watch for me.

Barbara Stanwyck waiting for her man

The three major characters are all flawless, but I think E G Robinson deserves a special mention: he plays the insurance claims investigator so passionately, he almost elevates insurance to an art form. Also, I’d seen him before, playing the old guy from Soylent Green, but I only realised it when I looked him up.

edward g robinson

Edward G Robinson is a badass dude

Double Indemnity has everything you could ask of a film noir: the decadence, the suspense, the badass cool talk – all supported by wonderful direction, acting and script. I think my favourite bit of dialogue would be:

Walter: Afraid, baby?
Phyllis: Yes, I’m afraid. But not of Keyes. I’m afraid of us. We’re not the same anymore. We did it so we could be together but instead of that, it’s pulling us apart, isn’t it, Walter?
Walter: What are you talking about?
Phyllis: And you don’t really care whether we see each other or not.
Walter: [kissing her] Shut up, baby.

Ohhh yes, this movie just oozes all kinds of cool. The less said about the plot the better, you just have to experience it really.

– prowler

9.8/10

torrent | imdb

Leave a comment